If you live in New Jersey, are facing a driving under the influence charge and it is not your first offense, you may have valid concerns about possibly having to spend time in jail, among other possible penalties. As you can probably imagine, the repercussions for drinking and driving in the state increase in severity for repeat offenders, so having multiple DUI convictions on your record has the capacity to impact numerous areas of your life.
While even first-time New Jersey DUI offenders typically face fines, license suspensions and possible imprisonment, among other penalties, second- and third-time DUI offenders face even harsher penalties.
Second-time DUI offender penalties
As a second-time New Jersey DUI offender, you can anticipate having to serve somewhere between 48 hours and 90 days behind bars in addition to paying fines that fall somewhere between $500 and $1,000. You can also plan on losing your license for two years, using an ignition interlock device for somewhere between one and three years, and paying another $1,000 in auto insurance for three years, among other possible penalties.
Third-time DUI offender penalties
If you are a third-time New Jersey DUI offender, you can expect to spend at least 180 days behind bars and pay at least $1,000 in fines. You can also anticipate losing your license for 10 full years, after which you must install an ignition interlock device on your car for another one to three years and pay an additional $1,500 in annual auto insurance for three years. You may, too, face additional penalties, including mandatory alcohol treatment, among others.
While this information gives you a general idea of the penalties you may face as a New Jersey repeat DUI offender, please note that some of these penalties may increase if authorities arrest you in a school zone or school crossing area. Multiple DUI convictions can make it increasingly difficult to find and maintain employment, among other potential problems it may cause, but in some cases, you may be able to defend yourself or plead to a lesser charge.